Ugandan Lesbian “evicted” because of new anti-gay law 7

This is one President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni is going to be very proud of.

Thanks to His Excellency’s signature on a page, a land lord has balked and given a lesbian who has been an exemplary tenant notice to quit his house because of what he calls “the way you behave with your friends.”

The verbatim eviction notice (translation below)

The verbatim eviction notice (translation below)

The landlord’s note (translated by yours truly) as has been sent to me:

3 March 2014

Ms. XXX XXX (names withheld):

You have been a wonderful woman as well as a tenant who hasn’t given me any trouble over rent whatsoever. But due to what is going on in the country [regarding the anti-gay law] and your way you and your friends behave, I am sorry but I think you are a depraved person who I can no longer tolerate in my house. I also cannot fight against the government. For that reason, I want you out of my house by March 30, 2014, peacefully.

Your landlord,

XXXXX (name withheld)

One cannot of course totally vouch for the authenticity of the notice, but if,  as seems to be the case at this point, this eviction notice is real, readers must thus make what they will of this rather grim development.

Long live Yoweri Kaguta Museveni. Long live the wise president of Uganda! May you live to rule over Uganda for another 28 years.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Uganda: Gays Arrested For Having Sex, Evicted From Their Homes For Being Gay | The New Civil Rights Movement

  2. Pingback: Cristianos Gays » Detenciones y desalojos de personas LGTB en Uganda.

Comments are closed.